IMG_0769 (2).JPG

Reading the books of author Mabh Savage feels like visiting an old friend and having a  relaxed conversation at her kitchen table!

The thing that struck me most, as I first held Celtic Witchcraft in my hand, was the short bio on the back informing me she “was raised by two Wiccan parents who have a passion for Celtic history, both mythological and actual”. Wow! Having been raised in a Roman Catholic family (and then spending several decades “debriefing myself”), my mind started spinning, trying to imagine what it would be like to have Wiccan parents like Mabh!

In her book A Modern Celt Mabh’s parents speak for themselves. There is a whole chapter where she visits and interviews them. She gives a verbatim account of the conversation. She does the same thing with friends who have an interesting background, gift or message.

In Celtic Withcraft she describes how Celtic legend and mythology can bring magic into your life (and you do not need to be Celtic to do this!)

Once I finished both books I was left feeling that I have met her, her parents, her rescue Crow (called Crowley) and her friends. Her books are gentle, intimate, very much based in everyday occurrences. It is about magic but she also debunks magic a little, saying that for instance good planning is a form of magic (and I had not thought of it that way!)

As an international teacher of shamanism (and sacred art) I have many students who embark on long and complex (at times frustrating) quests to seek their ancestors, their roots, their bloodline. Mabh is extremely fortunate that she grew up knowing her roots, hearing the legends about the Tuatha de Danaan and  the Celtic gods, goddesses and heroes from birth.It gives her writing an ease and confidence that is enviable.

If you are looking for a gentle but grounded introduction to the Celtic Tradition, these two books make a good start. If you then want more facts or more details she recommends other authors and texts so you can continue exploring.

The two books together make a lovely introduction and reading them both in one week, as I did, works very well! I invite you to check out her work and author page!

Imelda Almqvist

 

About the author

Imelda Almqvist’s book Natural Born Shamans: A Spiritual Toolkit For Life (Using shamanism creatively with young people of all ages) was published by Moon Books in August 2016.  She is based in London,UK and teaches shamanism and sacred art internationally.  She is a presenter on Year of Ceremony for Sounds True.

www.shaman-healer-painter.co.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

