This week I read this charming small book CANDLE MAGIC: A witch’s guide to spells and rituals.  I started reading it one evening and then just kept on reading because I was hooked!

For a small book it packs a lot of information. It is a very practical book as well. It offers plenty of magical activities you can try with materials from your own home and kitchen. No need to acquire a large amount of esoteric equipment or ingredients!

Even if you have not tried working magic before, this book offers plenty of suggestions. Always with a reminder of the health and safety aspects

I am a shamanic practitioner and I use candles constantly in my work (teaching classes and following my personal spiritual practices). I thought I knew about the use of candles but I now discovered there are new things I can try: using a larger variety of colours perhaps or burning candles to manifest a magical outcome.

I read with interest what Lucya writes about the thorny issue of “ethics and curses” (one chapter in the book). Apparently the issue it hotly debated by modern witches and I am not surprised.  Should you ever cast a curse against someone who has done you a terrible injustice?

I am not going to disclose what the author advises. I will say that I spend an awful lot of time discussing ethics and boundaries for spiritual work with my shamanic practitioner students!! It is a very important issue to reflect on.

This is a book to keep on the shelf and return to from time to time. A book to recommend to people who have just started following a spiritual path and wish to try some magic. Also a book for people who already use candles but want to get more innovative and creative with it.

I invite you to check out this book and other books by Lucya Starza!

Imelda Almqvist

About the author:
Imelda Almqvist’s book Natural Born Shamans: A Spiritual Toolkit For Life (Using shamanism creatively with young people of all ages) was published by Moon Books on 26th August 2016.  She is based in London,UK and teaches shamanism and sacred art internationally.

www.shaman-healer-painter.co.uk

https://imeldaalmqvist.wordpress.com/

http://shamanismsummit.com/

