IMG_8556

In the middle of the night someone pushed a fresh dog turd through our letterbox. I found it on the doormat at 7 am this morning.

I asked the children: “Prank or nasty?!” and they all said: “Very nasty, who’d do such a thing?!”

And do I even want to ask myself that question and dwell on this, after a vigorous cleaning and disinfecting operation?

What really came to my mind is that I have no control over the actions of others – but I can make choices about how I perceive things and what thoughts I entertain in my own mind.

The word ‘sh**” has become a contemporary swear word. Personally I have a more contrary view on this: it is when the ‘sh**t hits the fan, that things float up for healing. “Sh**’* makes great fertiliser for the land (this brings back memories of growing up in Holland and the  farmers’ fields reeking of dung at certain times of the year’. Then one day there would be the rainbow glory of the tulip fields — but the one does not exist without the other, the process of sacred alchemy requires BOTH stages.

What really came to mind was the dung beetle in ancient Egypt. I will post a paragraph from Wikipedia that explains the religious significance well:

 

Religious significance of the scarab beetle

In ancient Egyptian religion, the sun god Ra is seen to roll across the sky each day, transforming bodies and souls. Beetles of the Scarabaeidae family (dung beetle) roll dung into a ball as food and as a brood chamber in which to lay eggs that are later transformed into larva. For these reasons the scarab was seen as a symbol of this heavenly cycle and of the idea or rebirth or regeneration. The Egyptian god Khepri, Ra as the rising sun, was often depicted as a scarab beetle or as a scarab beetle-headed man. The ancient Egyptians believed that Khepri renewed the sun every day before rolling it above the horizon, then carried it through the other world after sunset, only to renew it, again, the next day. A golden scarab, of the monotheistic Nefertiti was discovered in the Uluburun wreck. [1]

So really the dung, the “sh**” acts as chamber of great transformation. And that tells us a lot about the process of human learning her on earth!!

I certainly hope I will not receive more ‘free fertiliser for our garden’ through the letterbox. I wil sit down later this morning and send the thought form (that led to doing this) back to the sender of this ‘gift’ (and I don’t mean the dog!) transformed into unconditional love and Divine Light. (This process is called transmutation. This thought form may take an interesting shape as it flies!)

If anything I am amused. This tells me there is ‘composting work’ to done in my internal world and I shall get on it. I will call in the great Egyptian spirit of the scarab or dung beetle and ask for guidance on any internal work to be done today!

Have a great day!

Imelda Almqvist

www.imelda-almqvist-art.com

www.shaman-healer-painter.co.uk

