SACREDTREESTreeOfLife

THE TREE OF LIFE

Miracles do not happen in contradiction to nature but only in contradiction to that which is known to us in nature”

St. Augustine

At the moment I am taking a sabbatical from shamanic healing work to focus on teaching and writing. Some would call this ‘professional suicide’ as I had built up an extremely busy and lively London practice. Personally I prefer to call it a ‘professional rebirth’. From time to time we need to take time out to reflect and to ‘reinvent ourselves’ (meaning: allowing personal growth to occur) or our practice could get a little stale. I think of this as ‘cave time’ or my hibernation period.

Shamanic healing work is miraculous work – and I am not using that phrase lightly or as wild hyperbole. In the years I have done this work I have (literally) seen people heal themselves from cancer, I have seen people make peace with their own death or the death of a loved one, I have seen crippled people dance, I have seen many people connect with the talents that are their birthright and they have gone on to do amazing things. Today they are ‘forces to be reckoned with’ in the world! I always invite clients to share their stories in my The Art of Healing Newsletter.

I have also worked with people who ‘want miracles’ but are not willing to make changes to their life. I think they will have a long wait for their miracle. .. In my observation miracles occur when people are ready to ‘grow wings’ and fly with the gifts they receive from Spirit. This process often involves shedding skins like a snake and releasing all that serves no more (including negative thought forms or limiting beliefs).

So what does the word miracle mean?

miracle, extraordinary and astonishing happening that is attributed to the presence and action of an ultimate or divine power.

A miracle is generally defined, according to the etymology of the word—it comes from the Greek thaumasion and the Latin miraculum—as that which causes wonder and astonishment, being extraordinary in itself and amazing or inexplicable by normal standards (from Britannica Online)

For me any healing session is ultimately about clients connecting with innate powers of healing. It’s not about becoming dependent on a healer or therapist because that only encourages people to give personal power away to someone else.

Healing comes THROUGH  a healer but not FROM the healer. That is a big distinction. Healing work is really about ‘getting myself out of the way’ so luminous beings more evolved and powerful than myself can work through me.

A tough question I often ask myself is: does being gifted at healing work mean that one ‘owes it to others’ to do this work? (I had a Roman Catholic upbringing, the concepts ‘guilt’ and ‘self-sacrifice’ loomed large!) Some people would say: yes, absolutely! More than a few people have tried to talk me out of my decision to take time out (but I do see the compliment in that!) I think everyone comes to Earth to perform a sacred and unique task. Exactly right now teaching groups and working with the healing power of group dynamics is where I am ‘at’, where I feel able to do truly innovative work that makes my heart sing with joy.

Is there such a thing as ‘healing the desire to heal’? Recently I have seen glimpses of that. My great passion in love is painting and I teach courses in making Sacred Art internationally. That blessed work  is all about dancing with sacred mystery and the primordial powers of creation. Everything starts and ends with the flow of creativity. It is a life-giving and profoundly healing force.

Do you believe in miracles?

How would you define the word miracle?

Imelda Almqvist

http://www.imelda-almqvist-art com  &  www.shaman-healer-painter.co.uk

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATHE RAINBOW SERPENT

